Last modified: June 4, 2009
You do not need to provide any personally identifying information in order to download and use Google Chrome. When you download Google Chrome or use it to contact Google’s servers, Google receives only standard log information including your machine’s IP address and one or more cookies. You can configure Google Chrome to not send cookies to Google or other sites as explained here.
In addition, some Google Chrome features send limited additional information to Google:
Sites that you visit using Google Chrome will automatically receive standard log information similar to that received by Google. These sites may also set their own cookies on your machine. You can restrict cookies by setting your preferences in the Google Chrome Options menu. If you use Google Chrome in incognito mode, it will not transmit any pre-existing cookies to sites that you visit. Sites may deposit new cookies on your machine while you are in incognito mode, however. These cookies will be temporarily stored and transmitted to sites while you remain in incognito mode. They will be deleted when you close the browser or return to normal browsing mode.
Google Chrome records useful information about your browsing history on your own computer. This includes:
You can delete all or portions of this history at any time as explained in the FAQ.
You can also limit the information Google Chrome saves on your computer by using incognito mode. In this mode, the browser will not store basic browsing history information such as URLs, cached page text, or IP addresses of pages linked from the websites you visit. It will also not store snapshots of pages that you visit or keep a record of your downloads. (This information could still be stored elsewhere on your computer, though.) New cookies received in incognito mode will not be saved after you close your browser or return to normal browsing mode. You can see when you are in incognito mode because the incognito icon appears in the top left corner of your browser; in some cases the border of your browser window may also change color.
When you make changes to your browser configuration, such as by bookmarking a web page or changing your settings, this information is also saved. These changes are not affected by incognito mode.
You can choose to have Google Chrome save your passwords for specific websites. Stored passwords can be reviewed in the Minor Tweaks tab of the Options dialog box.
Information that Google receives when you use Google Chrome is processed in order to operate and improve Google Chrome and other Google services. Information that other website operators receive is subject to the privacy polices of those websites. Google Chrome stores information on your machine in order to improve the browser’s performance and provide you with features, such the option to review snapshots from pages you have visited.
Google adheres to the US Safe Harbor privacy principles. For more information about the Safe Harbor framework or our registration, see the Department of Commerce's web site.
Further information about Google Chrome is available here.
c/o Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View CA 94043 (USA)